Sparky Buckweasel is born… the symphony of crickets ensues…

sb_021509_thumbWell, there’s a lot to improve upon, but it was still a lot of fun and hopefully will keep me motivated to continue working on it. You can see the whole strip here.

It’s funny how when you have a plan to be funny and spontaneous, it pretty much doesn’t work, so I definitely will be working on ways to improve the spontaneity of the images and the jokes, but hey, Charles Schultz had to start somewhere too, right?…

For those who notice that Sparky’s lizard-esque friend looks a bit like Dino from the Flintstones, that’s pretty much true. I used to draw these silly little one-joke dino cartoons all over my notes and sketch books in college, so I figured it would be fun to resurrect that old feller and see where I can go with him. At some point, I suppose I’ll need to give him a name…

I’ll be posting all the links to the strips on my new page: https://timjohnillustration.wordpress.com/sparky-buckweasel/

2 Responses to “Sparky Buckweasel is born… the symphony of crickets ensues…”

  1. bryan b. Says:

    Sparky is ze bomb! Keep going man! You have my full support, and then some.

    p.s. I think you need to start hosting your blog on your own webspace!

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      eh, why host it when I can let them do it for free and upgrade it for free… well, aside from the customization, but I’m kinda okay with that…

Leave a Reply

