Sparky takes a violent turn

sb_2I don’t know why, but slapping a dinosaur strikes me as funny… and let’s face it, Sparky looks like a guy who’s prone to violence.

Mostly, I  just wanted to experiment with more movement and emotion to see how that translates to technique and to see if I can simplify the whole thing a bit.

I’m also going to try something I used to do a lot, which is background words and word sounds/sound effects. I always thought it was kinda neat and after I sketched them in last night, I decided I might be on to something… or not, but it’ll be fun to see either way. It might also look really dated, I suppose, but then so is my brain and my talent, so why not go with the flow…

5 Responses to “Sparky takes a violent turn”

  1. Ileen Says:

    I like the whole word background thing…retro, it works here. I remember the Dino character vividly!

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      yeah, I pretty much just added spots and a wife-beater shirt. Not sure why I went with the wife-beater, but it struck me as funny.

  2. Molly Says:

    When I read “slapping a dinosaur” I instantly thought of creationism. Word association is fun!

    Now I’m just waiting to find out why Sparky lashed out.

  3. Tammy Says:

    Unfortunately, when I read “slapping a dinosaur” the musical refrain of “Boom boom acka-lacka lacka boom” automatically started playing my head. Draw something else so I can move on.

Leave a Reply

