Illustration Friday: Perspective

So, a buddy of mine and I had a conversation about how funny it would be in a cartoon (animation, specifically) if, over time, they continually simplified the style, to see if anybody would notice.

Of course, I thought it would also be funny if you did the same thing in a 3-panel comic, where the first panel is detailed, the second less-so and the third would be stick figures.

Is it funny? Well, I think it is. But only because I reference smelling like feet…

Anyway, comedy is all in your point-0f-view, right?

All stupidity aside, I actually am pretty happy with the first and third panel. I adjusted my detail pattern a bit in the first and like the end- result. And the third… well, c’mon, it’s just fun to draw like a 4 year old. Plus I actually think I did a pretty good job of simplifying Sparky down to his essence. I should consider doing some things in that style to see where it goes.

Check out Illustration Friday for all the other submissions.

3 Responses to “Illustration Friday: Perspective”

  1. Duncan Lee Says:

    Like it – love the Sparky character.

  2. Deb Clandening Says:

    Sparky is so cute. I really like him in the third panel.
    ~Deb~

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      cute… now that’s an interesting perspective on Sparky 😉 Using that adjective to describe him has never occurred to me. But, yes, I suppose he is, in his own way.

Leave a Reply

