muddy redux – illustration friday

Welp, I decided that the cleavage joke was done (that didn’t take long did it). And I decided that I needed to do something slapstick-y, so I give you mud-in-the-face Sparky.

Originally I had intended to include the person who threw the mud, but after I sketched it in, it just seemed too contrived and obvious. So, I just kept Sparky and tried to give the impression that the mud was moving at speed.

This should probably be done as a three panel comic, but this is what I had in my head, so I figured I’d get it drawn. If I have time, maybe I’ll go back and flesh out the set up to this… maybe.

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “muddy redux – illustration friday”

  1. happychinchilla Says:

    Great illustration. I love the t-shirt.

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      many thanks! I keep toying with that simplified skull motif.. I should probably make myself a t-shirt with that and be done with it 😉

  2. Bryan B. Says:

    this needs to be on a t-shirt.

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      haaa… yeah, that could work. I think it needs a little less line detail for that tho… I’ll have to try a simplified variation.

  3. josh pincus is crying Says:

    Cool illustration. (I was okay with the other one, too.)

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      thanks! yeah, it was okay, but I think I was stretching the joke too far and it was losing the ‘funny’.

  4. Elizebeth Says:

    I like his expression and the mud splat. Nicely done!

    • timjohnillustration Says:

      thanks very much! I probably should have made his body bent backwards from the force, but it didn’t occur to me when I drew it.

  5. xenos Says:

    “here’s mud in your eye!” comes to mind when looking at this…

Leave a Reply

